Haat gedicht

Julie Sheehan

.

Heel veel gedichten gaan over de liefde, over mooie momenten, herinneringen en fraaie zaken maar over haat gaan gedichten maar zelden. De Amerikaanse dichter Julie Sheehan schreef in haar bundel ‘Orient point’ uit 2006 een prachtig Haat gedicht getiteld ‘Hate poem’.

Op haar website http://juliesheehan.com/about/hate-poem/ schrijft ze over dit gedicht: This is not the story behind the hate—there is no story behind the hate, or if there is, I’m not telling. Instead, I have an observation, one that has probably occurred to many: hate and love can be described in the same, outlandish, hyperbolic and indistinguishable terms, probably because hate and love require the same degree of passionate intensity. Don’t say Yeats didn’t warn us, but it may be that hate and love are the same thing. Surely both are equally capable of mass destruction.

Kortom, als je de woorden ‘hate’ veranderd in ‘love’ dan heb je ineens een gedicht vol passie over liefde. Gaat het toch weer over de liefde.

.

Hate poem

.

I hate you truly. Truly I do.
Everything about me hates everything about you.
The flick of my wrist hates you.
The way I hold my pencil hates you.
The sound made by my tiniest bones were they trapped in the jaws of a moray eel hates you.
Each corpuscle singing in its capillary hates you.
Look out! Fore! I hate you.
The little blue-green speck of sock lint I’m trying to dig from under my third toenail, left foot, hates you.
The history of this keychain hates you.
My sigh in the background as you pick out the cashews hates you.
The goldfish of my genius hates you.
My aorta hates you. Also my ancestors.
A closed window is both a closed window and an obvious symbol of how I hate you.
My voice curt as a hairshirt: hate.
My hesitation when you invite me for a drive: hate.
My pleasant “good morning”: hate.
You know how when I’m sleepy I nuzzle my head under your arm? Hate.
The whites of my target-eyes articulate hate. My wit practices it.
My breasts relaxing in their holster from morning to night hate you.
Layers of hate, a parfait.
Hours after our latest row, brandishing the sharp glee of hate,
I dissect you cell by cell, so that I might hate each one individually and at leisure.
My lungs, duplicitous twins, expand with the utter validity of my hate, which can never have enough of you,
Breathlessly, like two idealists in a broken submarine.
.
.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Foto: Kelly Ann Smith
Geplaatst op 26 mei 2017, in Dichter in verzet, Favoriete dichters en getagd als , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Markeer de permalink als favoriet. 3 reacties.

Geef een reactie

